Main Menu

Topicless thread

Started by panda, September 17, 2005, 04:24:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul

So. tired. want. to. sleep.

Nichi

@Kriz: If you need any advice on building it, just ask me. Also, what processor are you going with?

Krizonar

Quote from: PentiumMMX on June 04, 2011, 07:47:56 AM
@Kriz: If you need any advice on building it, just ask me. Also, what processor are you going with?
That's really kind of you, because I have little experience with PCs, let alone...
AMD processors.

Her current (barely functioning) computer is AMD/ATI based, so I'm going with a 6 core 2.8 GHz Phenom II.

Nichi

That would be good. In fact, I almost went with a dual-core Phenom II when I was looking to build a solid PC for under $500 since I intended on buying all the parts at once, but then I decided to buy it one piece at a time, so I went with a Core i7 instead.

On a unrelated note, that pizza from last night has my stomach messed up. I'm not sure if I want to order from Pizza Hut again after this...

Red-Machine

I've built quite a few in my time, too.  AMDs are usually cheaper than Intel, but keep in mind that when Ivy Bridge comes out they will be three generations behind. (The new Bulldozer platform was designed to compete with pre-Sandy Bridge CPUs...)
Red_Machine: Flouting the Windows Lifecycle Policy since 1989!

Krizonar

Seeing as I got a 6 core at 2.8 ghz for $150, yes, I can imagine they are usually cheaper :P

I was going to use a Sandy bridge i3, since it wasn't much more expensive, but that build ended up raising costs around the board too.

I also might be able to lower the price even further if I settled for a HDD that used SATA 2 instead of 3, as anything outside a SSD won't really see any performance boost with SATA 3 anyway...

edit; lol, they're sold out of the sata 2 drives I want, but not the sata 3? wut?

Nichi

Yeah; you'd only really benefit from an SATA 3 drive if it's an SSD.